Weck mich nie Kindle ´ Weck mich eBook ´

Weck mich nie [BOOKS] ✬ Weck mich nie Author Martin Krüger – Natus-physiotherapy.co.uk She came to the island to escape what she did But the island won’t let her forget

It was a terrible, terrible accident Jasmin Hansen knows she hit something It must have been a deer—that She came to the island to escape what she did But the island won’t let her forgetIt was a terrible, terrible accident Weck mich eBook ´ Jasmin Hansen knows she hit something It must have been a deer—that’s what her husband keeps telling her But Jasmin saw a man’s face, and the nightmares won’t stopSome time out at their holiday home on the remote island of Minsøy seems the ideal solution for Jasmin and her fiveyearold son, Paul But you can’t hide from your memories, and Jasmin is haunted at every turn When mysterious messages begin to arrive at her isolated cottage, it becomes clear that she isn’t the only one who knows what happened that night Somebody wants her to pay And when Jasmin uncovers the island’s shocking longheld secret, she realises there isn’t a single person she and Paul can trustAs the island closes in on her and the threats against her escalate, can Jasmin discover who knows the truth of what she did before it’s too late?.


10 thoughts on “Weck mich nie

  1. April April says:

    Big thank you to Netgalley and Amazon Publishing UK for a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review!

    Wow, holy unreliable narrators, Batman! The first 40% of this book was a little slow but very atmospheric — honestly a perfect book for this time of year specifically! However, the pace picked up a little at 40% and from about 75% to the end, it went at a breakneck pace. (Not going to lie — I read the final 50% of this book in one sitting! I couldn’t set it down!)

    The setting was excellent — a small island in an unnamed Scandinavian country — and the characters were intriguing. As mentioned above, the narrator is very unreliable and as a result, I spent 99% of the book questioning what was happening, what was reality and what was not, and who — of the cast of characters — was someone I could trust.

    **Spoiler alert**

    I’m not sure how I feel about the use of mental illness as a plot point. As a mental health professional, I get uncomfortable when trauma is used as a major plot driver and I also dislike the overuse of Dissociative Identity Disorder and similar disorders — that most of the public/lay people view as “mysterious” or “fascinating” (as compared to the boring and common depression, anxiety, etc). However for the most part, it worked in this book. It did ding my overall rating down a star, however.

    Overall — an excellent tale. A good spooky read, perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, Gillian Flynn, and Ruth Ware.


  2. Shkolnikjx Shkolnikjx says:

    This was an amazing noir thriller that kept me on my toes the whole time. The author’s depiction of the characters was spot on and the plot had me breathless! Very atmospheric and in general a great read!


  3. Zelda FeatzReviews Zelda FeatzReviews says:

    This thriller keeps you guessing right to the end. Jasmin and her five-year-old son are alone at their holiday cottage on Minsøy island, and while Jasmin tries very hard to uncover the truth behind an accident she had, she finds herself drawn into a shocking long-held secret by the locals on the island. She discovers that there is no-one she trusts enough to turn to for help and when the treats start piling up, she understands that her life might be at risk.
    I am not usually a fan of translated works, but this book is beautifully written, and the translator did a great job ensure nothing was lost in translation. The characters are lively and realistic, and the scenic descriptions transport you to the island as you are reading.
    Jasmin experiences a lot of flashback and dreams and at times it was a little difficult to keep track of what was real and what was memory or dream, but as you keep reading you start understanding the difference.
    Don’t Wake Me tells the story of a mother, Jasmin, who after being in a serious car accident is convinced that she killed a man. However, her husband and doctor insist that she hit a deer. She keeps seeing the face of a man in her dreams which leaves her feeling haunted. She is determined to uncover the truth and regain her memory. This leads her the island of Minsøy and soon she uncovers long-held secrets that put her and her son in danger.
    The author draws you into the story very quickly, and you feel Jasmin’s confusion and desperation for the truth. I was rooting for her to get to the bottom of all the uncertainty. I doubted everybody as much as she did and was convinced I understood what was coming – only to be surprised by the ending – I was completely wrong and shocked by what turned out to be the truth.
    Jasmin was depicted perfectly. Her doubt, fear and confusion at every turn was written so beautifully you shared her experience on every page. She is without a doubt my favourite character and by the end of the book, while she left you a little confused at times, you simply cannot help but love her. When reading Don’t Wake Me, expect to be left surprised – it does not go where you anticipate it too.
    This was one of those books that kept you guessing all the way. The final plot twist comes as a surprise. While my opinion shifted between love and hate from one chapter to the next – my final opinion must be - loved it!
    This is a mystery thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat and if you enjoy a mystery that packs a punch with its final twist then this is a book you are going to love!
    Go ahead, get yourself a copy of Don’t Wake Me – it is a quick read that will not leave you disappointed.
    For more, see FeatzReviews.com


  4. Kimberly Ouwerkerk Kimberly Ouwerkerk says:

    Jasmin Hansen travels to Minsøy to finally understand what happened on the night of the accident. She is very anxious at the start of the book and somehow the author of Don’t Wake Me manages to transfer that feeling of anxiety to me as a reader. I can’t exactly pinpoint why – it might be the lack of resting points in the narrative – but it is a nice feat. You’re jumping from scene to scene, feeling disoriented as you don’t know ‘when’ a scene is taking place.

    You are in a constant dream-like state, but for Jasmin it is her reality. Her subconscious knows something that her rational mind can’t piece together yet. She feels uncertain and is constantly questioning herself and her memory. The eerie feeling that she has when observing her surroundings is emanating from the pages. I’m impressed by the ability of Martin Krüger (author) and Jozef van der Voort (translator) to keep me in that state for quite some time.

    Then I picked up on some very clear (too clear and too early) hints; I won’t tell you where so that you won’t be looking for them too much when reading this book. When I figured out how the story was going to end, some of the magic faded and the story gripped me less. From that point on, I was simply reading to finish the book.

    Don’t Wake Me is a solid thriller with a great atmosphere that I did enjoy reading. As said before, the plot is not surprising, but the setting and delivery of (especially) the first part of the book are strong.

    Many thanks to Amazon Publishing UK and NetGalley for a digital ARC of this novel in exchange for an honest review.


  5. Janice Lombardo Janice Lombardo says:

    Jasmin and her 5 year old son, Paul, are on the way to their summer home in Norway. Jasmin continues to tell herself this time it will be different. Yet, while on the ferry to the island, she still searches the news for information about an unknown victim. None.

    Memories begin to unravel as Jasmin reminds herself what had happened the last time she was at that house. The car accident... Yet, desperate to get back to her old self - she needs to return there after 5 years..

    But more questions arise as Jasmine rediscovers herself in the house...

    What really happened during the accident? Did Jasmin REALLY hit a deer or was it something even worse?

    Well-detailed story with great visualization.

    Many Thanks to Amazon Publishing UK , Thomas & Mercer and NetGalley for the opportunity to read and review this book. RECOMMEND.


  6. ʚϊɞ Shelley& ʚϊɞ Shelley& says:

    I thought the premise of the book sounded interesting but something must have gotten lost in translation as it ended up being really boring. It is a noir thriller and I was taken in by the blurb, but I somehow found the execution lacking and I had to force myself to complete it and not pull a DNF. I found some parts of the book to be kinda crazy out there with the twists and turns, it made the book really confusing at times and very muddled...and then the end just fell so flat.

    Disclousure:
    Thank you NetGalley, Martin Krüger and Amazon Publishing UK for the opportunity to read this book in exchange for an impartial review; all opinions are my own.

    #DontWakeMe #NetGalley


  7. Ken Fredette Ken Fredette says:

    Martin Krüger sure can make a story from what can be considered a psychic dilemma. Jasmin Hansen had been in a coma for years after an accident where she swears she killed a man. What the story entails is her delving into a trip onto an island with her dog and her little boy. Things seem to be drawn out in her belief that people were against her. I would like to use spoilers but I can't in good reasoning do it without giving everything away. Let's just say the Martin uses psychological sense in following up with the truth. This book is a well written novel that leaves you with a sense of doubt. Read it and you will find out for yourself.


  8. April Taylor April Taylor says:

    For most of this book, I was sucked into the main character’s story. Then, toward the end, the author made the unwise decision to copy a popular book/movie. Yes, some of it is different, but so much of it was the same that I couldn’t help comparing them. I won’t mention the name because that would be a spoiler.

    3-1/2 stars, rounded up to 4. Thank you to the publisher and NetGalley for providing an ARC. This review contains my honest, unbiased opinion.


  9. Hannelore Cheney Hannelore Cheney says:

    This was a terrific read, very tense with a shocking revelation at the end. I don't want to give anything away, it's hard to go into the story for me in case I slip up and reveal too much.
    The translation by Jozef Van De Voort is excellent. I tore through this book at lighting speed, just couldn't put the book down. Hopefully more of the author's books will be translated!
    Highly recommended for everyone who loves a good psychological thriller.


  10. Louise Louise says:

    An island,a lighthouse,a storm coming... these are nearly always good ingredients for a great thriller.
    I had my suspicions very early on where this book was going,and picked up clues all over to back up the idea.
    Towards the last third of the book,it all gets crazy busy,and indeed crazy.

    The whole thing got twisty and turney and everyone seemed a bit dodgy,and you have to feel for the poor confused main character not knowing which way to turn.

    However,the ending left me a bit flat.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *