Only Mostly Devastated

01 June 2020 | By Sophie Gonzales | Filed in: gay fiction.

SIMON VS THE HOMO SAPIENS AGENDA meets CLUELESS in this boy meets boy spin on GreaseSummer lovegone so fast n nWill Tavares is the dream summer fling he s fun, affectionate, kind but just when Ollie thinks he s found his Happily Ever After, summer vacation ends and Will stops texting Ollie back.

We Are Totally Normal

01 June 2020 | By Rahul Kanakia | Filed in: gay fiction.

Nandan s got a plan to make his junior year perfect He s going to make sure all the parties are chill, he s going to smooth things over with his ex, and he s going to help his friend Dave get into the popular crowd whether Dave wants to or not The high school social scene might be complicated, but

The Lost Prayers of Ricky Graves

01 June 2020 | By James Han Mattson | Filed in: gay fiction.

n In raw, poignant alternating first person narratives, interspersed with e mails, gay chat room exchanges, and other fragments of a youth laid bare in the age of social media, The Lost Prayers of Ricky Graves unravels the mystery of a life in all its glory despair and regret, humor and wonder, co

My Ex-Life

01 June 2020 | By Stephen McCauley | Filed in: gay fiction.

The time for Stephen McCauley s breakout novel has come and My Ex Life is it in a major way A delicious novel for fans of Tom Perrotta, Maria Semple, and Cynthia D Aprix Sweeney about how sometimes the only way to move forward is to go back n nDavid Hedges s life is coming apart at the seams His jo

The Sparsholt Affair

01 June 2020 | By Alan Hollinghurst | Filed in: gay fiction.

From the internationally acclaimed winner of the Man Booker Prize, a sweeping new novel that explores richly complex relationships between fathers and sons as it spans seven transformative decades in England, from the 1940s through the present n nIn the fall of 1940, with the world at war, a young man

Take Nothing With You

01 June 2020 | By Patrick Gale | Filed in: gay fiction.

From the bestselling author of A Place Called Winter comes a new novel of boyhood, coming of age, and the confusions of desire and reality For all readers of Ian McEwan s Atonement or L P Hartley s The Go Between n n1970s Weston Super Mare and ten year old oddball Eustace, an only child, has life tr

After the Blue Hour

01 June 2020 | By John Rechy | Filed in: gay fiction.

John Rechy s first novel, City of Night, an international bestseller, is considered a modern classic Subsequent work asserts his place among America s most important writers The author s most daring work, After the Blue Hour is narrated by a twenty four year old writer named John Rechy Fleeing a

JD

01 June 2020 | By Mark Merlis | Filed in: gay fiction.

Jonathan Ascher, an acclaimed 1960s radical writer and cultural hero, has been dead for thirty years When a would be biographer approaches Ascher s widow Martha, she delves for the first time into her husband s papers and all the secrets that come tumbling out of them She finds journal

The Boys From Eighth and Carpenter

01 June 2020 | By Tom Mendicino | Filed in: gay fiction.

S Gagliano Son has been a barber shop fixture in South Philly for decades Frankie and Michael Gagliano s Italian immigrant father Luigi to his customers, Papa to his sons presides over the store, enlisting his children as soon as they re big enough to wield a broom On their mother s deathbed, e

Hide

01 June 2020 | By Matthew Griffin | Filed in: gay fiction.

ABA Indies Introduce PickIndie Next List Selection Best of the Month BookWendell and Frank meet at the end of World War II, when Frank returns home to their North Carolina town Soon he s loitering around Wendell s taxidermy shop, and the two come to understand their connection as love a love

Speak My Language, and Other Stories: An Anthology of Gay Fiction

01 June 2020 | By Torsten Højer | Filed in: gay fiction.

There is something special about literature that addresses our innermost sexual and amatory selves Gay stories offer us vindication, fellowship, validation and a sense of shared identity that we need now as much as ever, writes Stephen Fry in the foreword to this anthology.In this exciting

We Were Witches

01 June 2020 | By Ariel Gore | Filed in: gay fiction.

Spurred on by nineties family values campaigns and determined to better herself through education, a teen mom talks her way into college Disgusted by an overabundance of phallocratic narratives and Freytag s pyramid, she turns to a subcultural canon of resistance and failure Wryly riffing on fem

Boy Meets Hamster

01 June 2020 | By Birdie Milano | Filed in: gay fiction.

Fourteen year old Dylan Kershaw s idea of a dream holiday includes at least three things beaches to bask on, cosmopolitan culture, and a chance for romance or at least his first kiss with another boy Unluckily for Dylan, this year his mum s treating the family to the least dreamy holiday ever a

Black Sheep Boy: A Novel in Stories

01 June 2020 | By Martin Pousson | Filed in: gay fiction.

Meet a wild hearted boy from the bayou land of Louisiana Misfit, outcast, loner Call him anything but a victim Sissy, fairy, Jenny Woman Son of a mixed race Holy Ghost mother and a Cajun French phantom father In a series of tender and tough stories, he encounters gender outlaws, drag queen rene

Leading Men

01 June 2020 | By Christopher Castellani | Filed in: gay fiction.

An expansive yet intimate story of desire, artistic ambition, and fidelity, set in the glamorous literary and film circles of 1950s Italy n nIn July of 1953, at a glittering party thrown by Truman Capote in Portofino, Italy, Tennessee Williams and his longtime lover Frank Merlo meet Anja Blomgren, a m

the earthquake room

01 June 2020 | By Davey Davis | Filed in: gay fiction.

In the near future, Oakland is haunted by natural disaster and political collapse When k realizes that she has infected her girlfriend, bea, with a disease, she loses herself in a masochistic quest for atonement, leaving bea to contend with her fears about an increasingly precarious world by hersel