Dominicana

10 August 2020 | By Angie Cruz | Filed in: latin american.

Fifteen year old Ana Cancion never dreamed of moving to America, the way the girls she grew up with in the Dominican countryside did But when Juan Ruiz proposes and promises to take her to New York City, she has to say yes It doesn t matter that he is twice her age, that there is no love between t

Temporada de huracanes

10 August 2020 | By Fernanda Melchor | Filed in: latin american.

Con un ritmo y un lenguaje magistrales, Fernanda Melchor, autora de Falsa liebre explora en esta obra las sinrazones que subyacen a los actos m s desesperados de barbarie pasional n nUna novela cruda y desgarradora en la que el lector quedar envuelto, atrapado por las palabras y la atm sfera de terr

Little Eyes

10 August 2020 | By Samanta Schweblin | Filed in: latin american.

n A visionary novel about the collision of technology and play, horror and humanity, from a master of the spine tingling tale n n nThey ve infiltrated homes in Hong Kong, shops in Vancouver, the streets of Senegal, town squares of Oaxaca, schools in Tel Aviv, bedrooms in Ohio They re following you.

Lost Children Archive

10 August 2020 | By Valeria Luiselli | Filed in: latin american.

From the two time NBCC Finalist, an emotionally resonant, fiercely imaginative new novel about a family whose road trip across America collides with an immigration crisis at the southwestern border an indelible journey told with breathtaking imagery, spare lyricism, and profound humanity n nA mother

Things We Lost in the Fire

10 August 2020 | By Mariana Enríquez | Filed in: latin american.

In these wildly imaginative, devilishly daring tales of the macabre, internationally bestselling author Mariana Enriquez brings contemporary Argentina to vibrant life as a place where shocking inequality, violence, and corruption are the law of the land, while military dictatorship and legions of de

In the Midst of Winter

10 August 2020 | By Isabel Allende | Filed in: latin american.

New York Times and worldwide bestselling dazzling storyteller Associated Press Isabel Allende returns with a sweeping novel about three very different people who are brought together in a mesmerizing story that journeys from present day Brooklyn to Guatemala in the recent past to 1970s Chile and

The Undocumented Americans

10 August 2020 | By Karla Cornejo Villavicencio | Filed in: latin american.

One of the first undocumented immigrants to graduate from Harvard reveals the hidden lives of her fellow undocumented Americans in this deeply personal and groundbreaking portrait of a nation n nWriter Karla Cornejo Villavicencio was on DACA when she decided to write about being undocumented for the

Tell Me How It Ends: An Essay in Forty Questions

10 August 2020 | By Valeria Luiselli | Filed in: latin american.

Structured around the forty questions Luiselli translates and asks undocumented Latin American children facing deportation, Tell Me How It Ends an expansion of her 2016 Freeman s essay of the same name humanizes these young migrants and highlights the contradiction of the idea of America as a fict

The House of Broken Angels

10 August 2020 | By Luis Alberto Urrea | Filed in: latin american.

The definitive Mexican American immigrant story, a sprawling and deeply felt portrait of a Mexican American family occasioned by the impending loss of its patriarch, from one of the country s most beloved authors.Prizewinning and bestselling writer Luis Urrea has written his Mexican coming to Americ

Hippie

10 August 2020 | By Paulo Coelho | Filed in: latin american.

In Hippie, his most autobiographical novel to date, Paulo Coelho takes us back in time to re live the dream of a generation that longed for peace and dared to challenge the established social order authoritarian politics, conservative modes of behavior, excessive consumerism, and an unbalanced con

Ordinary Girls

10 August 2020 | By Jaquira Díaz | Filed in: latin american.

There is life packed on each page of Ordinary Girls than some lives hold in a lifetime Julia Alvarez n nOrdinary Girls is a fierce, beautiful, and unflinching memoir from a wildly talented debut author While growing up in housing projects in Puerto Rico and Miami Beach, Jaquira D az found h

The Adventures of China Iron

10 August 2020 | By Gabriela Cabezón Cámara | Filed in: latin american.

China Pronounced cheena designation for female, from the Quechua Iron The English word for Fierro, reference to the gaucho Mart n Fierro, from Jos Hern ndez s epic poem n nThis is a riotous romp taking the reader from the turbulent frontier culture of the pampas deep into indigenous terri

Siete casas vacías

10 August 2020 | By Samanta Schweblin | Filed in: latin american.

Las casas son siete, y est n vac as La narradora, seg n Rodrigo Fres n, es una cient fica cuerda contemplando locos, o gente que est pensando seriamente en volverse loca Y la cordura, como siempre, es superficial n nSamanta Schweblin nos arrastra hacia Siete casas vac as y, en torno a ellas, e

Tiempos recios

10 August 2020 | By Mario Vargas Llosa | Filed in: latin american.

n LA NUEVA NOVELA DE MARIO VARGAS LLOSA, PREMIO NOBEL DE LITERATURA n n n n Una historia de conspiraciones pol ticas e intereses encontrados durante la Guerra Fr a Una mentira que pas por verdad y cambi el devenir de Am rica Latina n n Era la historia esa fant stica tergiversaci n de la re

Fruit of the Drunken Tree

10 August 2020 | By Ingrid Rojas Contreras | Filed in: latin american.

In the vein of Isabel Allende and Gabriel Garcia Marquez, a mesmerizing debut set against the backdrop of the devastating violence of 1990 s Colombia about a sheltered young girl and a teenage maid who strike an unlikely friendship that threatens to undo them both n nThe Santiago family lives in a ga