Borne (Borne, #1)

29 February 2020 | By Jeff VanderMeer | Filed in: new weird.

In a ruined, nameless city of the future, a woman named Rachel, who makes her living as a scavenger, finds a creature she names Borne entangled in the fur of Mord, a gigantic, despotic bear Mord once prowled the corridors of the biotech organization known as the Company, which lies at the

Dead Astronauts (Borne, #2)

29 February 2020 | By Jeff VanderMeer | Filed in: new weird.

Under the watchful eye of The Company, three characters Grayson, Moss and Chen shapeshifters, amorphous, part human, part extensions of the landscape, make their way through forces that would consume them A blue fox, a giant fish and language stretched to the limit A messianic blue fox who

This Census-Taker

29 February 2020 | By China MiƩville | Filed in: new weird.

For readers of George Saunders, Kelly Link, and Karen Russell, This Census Taker is the poignant and uncanny new novella from award winning and bestselling author China Mi ville After witnessing a profoundly traumatic event, a boy is left alone in a remote house on a hilltop with his increasingly

The Strange Bird: A Borne Story

29 February 2020 | By Jeff VanderMeer | Filed in: new weird.

The Strange Bird from New York Times bestselling novelist Jeff VanderMeer is a digital original that expands and weaves deeply into the world of his thorough marvel of a novel, Borne The Strange Bird is a new kind of creature, built in a laboratory she is part bird, part human, part many other

The Border Keeper

29 February 2020 | By Kerstin Hall | Filed in: new weird.

A lyrical underworld narrative that begins around a desolate, near forgotten border to the land of the dead Vasethe, a man with a troubled past, comes to seek a favor from a woman who is not what she seems With her aid, he enters the nine hundred and ninety nine realms of Mkalis, the world of

The Secret of Ventriloquism

29 February 2020 | By Jon Padgett | Filed in: new weird.

Jon Padgett s The Secret of Ventriloquism, named the Best Fiction Book of 2016 by Rue Morgue Magazine, heralds the arrival of a significant new literary talent With themes reminiscent of Shirley Jackson, Thomas Ligotti, and Bruno Schulz, but with a strikingly unique vision, Padgett s work explores

The Grand Dark

29 February 2020 | By Richard Kadrey | Filed in: new weird.

The Grand Dark is a subversive tale that immerses us in a world where the extremes of bleakness and beauty exist together in dangerous harmony in a city on the edge of civility and chaos The Great War is over The city of Lower Proszawa celebrates the peace with a decadence and carefree spirit as

The Vorrh (The Vorrh Trilogy, #1)

29 February 2020 | By Brian Catling | Filed in: new weird.

Prepare to lose yourself in the heady, mythical expanse ofThe Vorrh, a daring debut that Alan Moore has called a phosphorescent masterpiece and the current century s first landmark work of fantasy Next to the colonial town of Essenwald sits the Vorrh, a vast perhaps endless forest It is a place

This World is Full of Monsters

29 February 2020 | By Jeff VanderMeer | Filed in: new weird.

An alien invasion comes to one man s doorstep in the form of a story creature, followed by death and rebirth in a transformed Earth At the Publisher s request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software DRM applied.

Song for the Unraveling of the World

29 February 2020 | By Brian Evenson | Filed in: new weird.

A newborn s absent face appears on the back of someone else s head, a filmmaker goes to gruesome lengths to achieve the silence he s after for his final scene, and a therapist begins, impossibly, to appear in a troubled patient s room late at night In these stories of doubt, delusion, and paranoia,