The Strange Bird: A Borne Story

24 April 2018 | By Jeff VanderMeer | Filed in: new-weird.

n The Strange Bird from New York Times bestselling novelist Jeff VanderMeer is a digital original that expands and weaves deeply into the world of his thorough marvel of a novel, Borne nThe Strange Bird is a new kind of creature, built in a laboratory she is part bird, part human, part many othe

The Last Days of New Paris

27 March 2018 | By China Miéville | Filed in: new-weird.

Beauty will be convulsive n nIt s 1941 In the chaos of wartime Marseille, American engineer and occult disciple Jack Parsons stumbles onto a clandestine anti Nazi group, including surrealist theorist Andr Breton In the strange games of the dissident diplomats, exiled revolutionaries, and

Dead Astronauts (Borne, #2)

23 June 2017 | By Jeff VanderMeer | Filed in: new-weird.

Under the watchful eye of The Company, three characters Grayson, Moss and Chen shapeshifters, amorphous, part human, part extensions of the landscape, make their way through forces that would consume them A blue fox, a giant fish and language stretched to the limit n nA messianic blue fox who sl

Song for the Unraveling of the World

09 April 2019 | By Brian Evenson | Filed in: new-weird.

A newborn s absent face appears on the back of someone else s head, a filmmaker goes to gruesome lengths to achieve the silence he s after for his final scene, and a therapist begins, impossibly, to appear in a troubled patient s room late at night In these stories of doubt, delusion, and paranoia,

This World is Full of Monsters

10 December 2018 | By Jeff VanderMeer | Filed in: new-weird.

An alien invasion comes to one man s doorstep in the form of a story creature, followed by death and rebirth in a transformed Earth n nAt the Publisher s request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software DRM applied.

The Secret of Ventriloquism

24 February 2018 | By Jon Padgett | Filed in: new-weird.

Jon Padgett s The Secret of Ventriloquism, named the Best Fiction Book of 2016 by Rue Morgue Magazine, heralds the arrival of a significant new literary talent With themes reminiscent of Shirley Jackson, Thomas Ligotti, and Bruno Schulz, but with a strikingly unique vision, Padgett s work explores

This Census-Taker

09 December 2017 | By China Miéville | Filed in: new-weird.

For readers of George Saunders, Kelly Link, and Karen Russell, This Census Taker is the poignant and uncanny new novella from award winning and bestselling author China Mi ville After witnessing a profoundly traumatic event, a boy is left alone in a remote house on a hilltop with his increasingly d

Escaping Exodus

01 June 2019 | By Nicky Drayden | Filed in: new-weird.

Escaping Exodus is a story of a young woman named Seske Kaleigh, heir to the command of a biological, city size starship carved up from the insides of a spacefaring beast Her clan has just now culled their latest ship and the workers are busy stripping down the bonework for building materials, rero

The Erstwhile (The Vorrh Trilogy, #2)

20 January 2017 | By Brian Catling | Filed in: new-weird.

In London and Germany, strange beings are reanimating themselves They are the Erstwhile, the angels that failed to protect the Tree of Knowledge, and their reawakening will have major consequences In Africa, the colonial town of Essenwald has fallen into disarray because the timber workforce has d

A Lush and Seething Hell: Two Tales of Cosmic Horror

08 October 2018 | By John Hornor Jacobs | Filed in: new-weird.

The award winning and critically acclaimed master of horror returns with a pair of chilling tales both never before published in print that examine the violence and depravity of the human condition.Bringing together his acclaimed novella The Sea Dreams It Is the Sky and an all new short novel My Hea

A Man of Shadows (John Nyquist, #1)

24 January 2019 | By Jeff Noon | Filed in: new-weird.

The brilliant, mind bending return to science fiction by one of its most acclaimed visionaries n nBelow the neon skies of Dayzone where the lights never go out, and night has been banished lowly private eye John Nyquist takes on a teenage runaway case His quest takes him from Dayzone into the pe

The Grand Dark

03 March 2017 | By Richard Kadrey | Filed in: new-weird.

The Grand Dark is a subversive tale that immerses us in a world where the extremes of bleakness and beauty exist together in dangerous harmony in a city on the edge of civility and chaos n nThe Great War is over The city of Lower Proszawa celebrates the peace with a decadence and carefree spirit as

The Vine That Ate the South

12 July 2017 | By J.D. Wilkes | Filed in: new-weird.

In a forgotten corner of western Kentucky lies a haunted forest referred to locally as The Deadening, where vampire cults roam wild and time is immaterial Our protagonist and his accomplice the one and only Carver Canute set out down the Old Spur Line in search of the legendary Kudzu House, where

Perdido Street Station (New Crobuzon, #1)

13 September 2019 | By China Miéville | Filed in: new-weird.

Beneath the towering bleached ribs of a dead, ancient beast lies the city of New Crobuzon, where the unsavory deal is stranger to no one not even to Isaac, a gifted and eccentric scientist who has spent a lifetime quietly carrying out his unique research But when a half bird, half human creature k

Annihilation (Southern Reach, #1)

09 March 2017 | By Jeff VanderMeer | Filed in: new-weird.

Area X has been cut off from the rest of the world for decades Nature has reclaimed the last vestiges of human civilization The first expedition returned with reports of a pristine, Edenic landscape the second expedition ended in mass suicide, the third in a hail of gunfire as its members turned