Burn

07 March 2019 | By Patrick Ness | Filed in: poverty.

On a cold Sunday evening in early 1957, Sarah Dewhurst waited with her father in the parking lot of the Chevron gas station for the dragon he d hired to help on the farm n nSarah Dewhurst and her father, outcasts in their little town of Frome, Washington, are forced to hire a dragon to work their far

Brave Girl, Quiet Girl

10 August 2019 | By Catherine Ryan Hyde | Filed in: poverty.

n From New York Times bestselling author Catherine Ryan Hyde comes a gripping and emotional novel about friendship, motherhood, and the journey toward finding a place to call home nBrooke is a divorced single mom, financially strapped, living with her mother, and holding tight to the one thing that

Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis

22 August 2019 | By J.D. Vance | Filed in: poverty.

From a former marine and Yale Law School graduate, a powerful account of growing up in a poor Rust Belt town that offers a broader, probing look at the struggles of America s white working class n nHillbilly Elegy is a passionate and personal analysis of a culture in crisis that of white working class

Allie and Bea

22 July 2019 | By Catherine Ryan Hyde | Filed in: poverty.

Bea has barely been scraping by since her husband died After falling for a telephone scam, she loses everything and is forced to abandon her trailer With only two thirds of a tank in her old van, she heads toward the Pacific Ocean with her cat on a mission to reclaim what s rightfully hers, even i

My Name Is Lucy Barton

27 June 2017 | By Elizabeth Strout | Filed in: poverty.

Lucy Barton is recovering slowly from what should have been a simple operation Her mother, to whom she hasn t spoken for many years, comes to see her Her unexpected visit forces Lucy to confront the tension and longing that have informed every aspect of her life her impoverished childhood in Amga

Maid: Hard Work, Low Pay, and a Mother's Will to Survive

23 August 2018 | By Stephanie Land | Filed in: poverty.

Evicted meets Nickel and Dimed in Stephanie Land s memoir about working as a maid, a beautiful and gritty exploration of poverty in America Includes a foreword by Barbara Ehrenreich n n My daughter learned to walk in a homeless shelter n nWhile the gap between upper middle class Americans and the w

Front Desk (Front Desk, #1)

01 December 2018 | By Kelly Yang | Filed in: poverty.

Mia Tang has a lot of secrets n nNumber 1 She lives in a motel, not a big house Every day, while her immigrant parents clean the rooms, ten year old Mia manages the front desk of the Calivista Motel and tends to its guests n nNumber 2 Her parents hide immigrants And if the mean motel owner, Mr Ya

Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City

06 May 2017 | By Matthew Desmond | Filed in: poverty.

In Evicted, Princeton sociologist and MacArthur Genius Matthew Desmond follows eight families in Milwaukee as they struggle to keep a roof over their heads Evicted transforms our understanding of poverty and economic exploitation while providing fresh ideas for solving one of 21st century America

Navigate Your Stars

10 May 2017 | By Jesmyn Ward | Filed in: poverty.

A revelatory, uplifting, and gorgeously illustrated meditation on dedication, hard work, and the power of perseverance from the beloved, New York Times bestselling, and two time National Book Award winning Jesmyn Ward.For Tulane University s 2018 commencement, Jesmyn Ward delivered a stirring speech

Djinn Patrol on the Purple Line

20 July 2018 | By Deepa Anappara | Filed in: poverty.

Three friends venture into the most dangerous corners of a sprawling Indian city to find their missing classmate n nDown market lanes crammed with too many people, dogs, and rickshaws, past stalls that smell of cardamom and sizzling oil, below a smoggy sky that doesn t let through a single blade of s

Piecing Me Together

22 February 2019 | By Renée Watson | Filed in: poverty.

A timely and powerful story about a teen girl from a poor neighborhood striving for success, from acclaimed author Ren e Watson n nJade believes she must get out of her neighborhood if she s ever going to succeed Her mother says she has to take every opportunity She has She accepted a scholarship

Genesis Begins Again

26 May 2017 | By Alicia D. Williams | Filed in: poverty.

This is the story of a thirteen year old girl who is filled with self loathing and must overcome internalized racism and a verbally abusive family to finally learn to love herself n nThere are ninety six things Genesis hates about herself She knows the exact number because she keeps a list Like 95

Hill Women: Finding Family and a Way Forward in the Appalachian Mountains

21 April 2019 | By Cassie Chambers | Filed in: poverty.

After rising from poverty to earn two Ivy League degrees, an Appalachian lawyer pays tribute to the strong hill women who raised and inspired her, and whose values have the potential to rejuvenate a struggling region an uplifting and eye opening memoir for readers of Hillbilly Elegy and Educated.