Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine

08 July 2020 | By Gail Honeyman | Filed in: scotland.

No one s ever told Eleanor that life should be better than fine n nMeet Eleanor Oliphant she struggles with appropriate social skills and tends to say exactly what she s thinking Nothing is missing in her carefully timetabled life of avoiding unnecessary human contact, where weekends are punctuated

The Turn of the Key

08 July 2020 | By Ruth Ware | Filed in: scotland.

When she stumbles across the ad, she s looking for something else completely But it seems like too good an opportunity to miss a live in nannying post, with a staggeringly generous salary And when Rowan Caine arrives at Heatherbrae House, she is smitten by the luxurious smart home fitted out wit

The Hunting Party

08 July 2020 | By Lucy Foley | Filed in: scotland.

Everyone s invitedeveryone s a suspect n nFor fans of Ruth Ware and Tana French, a shivery, atmospheric, page turning novel of psychological suspense in the tradition of Agatha Christie, in which a group of old college friends are snowed in at a hunting lodge and murder and mayhem ensue n n

Sea of Memories

08 July 2020 | By Fiona Valpy | Filed in: scotland.

When Kendra first visits her ailing grandmother, Ella has only one request that Kendra write her story down, before she forgets n nIn 1937, seventeen year old Ella s life changes forever when she is sent to spend the summer on the beautiful le de R and meets the charismatic, creative Christophe T

Conviction

08 July 2020 | By Denise Mina | Filed in: scotland.

A true crime podcast sets a housewife s present life on a collision course with her secret past n nThe day Anna McDonald s quiet, respectable life explodes starts off like all the days before packing up the kids for school, making breakfast, listening to yet another true crime podcast Then her husb

500 Miles from You

08 July 2020 | By Jenny Colgan | Filed in: scotland.

New York Times bestselling author Jenny Colgan returns to the beloved Scottish Highland town of Kirrinfief, which readers first met in The Bookshop on the Shore, and adds a dash of London s bustling urban landscape n n Lissie, is a nurse in a gritty, hectic London neighborhood Always terribly com

The Bookshop on the Corner (Scottish Bookshop #1)

08 July 2020 | By Jenny Colgan | Filed in: scotland.

Nina Redmond is a literary matchmaker Pairing a reader with that perfect book is her passion and also her job Or at least it was Until yesterday, she was a librarian in the hectic city But now the job she loved is no n nDetermined to make a new life for herself, Nina moves to a sleepy villa

A Litter of Bones (DCI Logan Crime Thrillers, #1)

08 July 2020 | By J.D. Kirk | Filed in: scotland.

Was the biggest case of his career the worst mistake he ever made n nTen years ago, DCI Jack Logan stopped the serial child killer dubbed Mister Whisper, earning himself a commendation, a drinking problem, and a broken marriage in the process n nNow, he spends his days working in Glasgow s Major Inc

Edinburgh Twilight (Ian Hamilton Mysteries #1)

08 July 2020 | By Carole Lawrence | Filed in: scotland.

As a new century approaches, Edinburgh is a city divided The wealthy residents of New Town live in comfort, while Old Town s cobblestone streets are clotted with criminals, prostitution, and poverty.Detective Inspector Ian Hamilton is no stranger to Edinburgh s darkest crimes Scarred by the myster

The Bookshop on the Shore (Scottish Bookshop, #2)

08 July 2020 | By Jenny Colgan | Filed in: scotland.

A grand baronial house on Loch Ness, a quirky small town bookseller, and a single mom looking for a fresh start all come together in this witty and warm hearted novel by New York Times bestselling author Jenny Colgan.Desperate to escape from London, single mother Zoe wants to build a new life for he

When a Scot Ties the Knot (Castles Ever After, #3)

08 July 2020 | By Tessa Dare | Filed in: scotland.

On the cusp of her first London season, Miss Madeline Gracechurch was shyly pretty and talented with a drawing pencil, but hopelessly awkward with gentlemen She was certain to be a dismal failure on the London marriage mart So Maddie did what generations of shy, awkward young ladies have done she

City of Ghosts (Cassidy Blake, #1)

08 July 2020 | By Victoria Schwab | Filed in: scotland.

Cassidy Blake s parents are The Inspecters, a somewhat inept ghost hunting team But Cass herself can REALLY see ghosts In fact, her best friend, Jacob, just happens to be one n nWhen The Inspecters head to ultra haunted Edinburgh, Scotland, for their new TV show, Cass and Jacob come along In Sco

The Moon Sister (The Seven Sisters, #5)

08 July 2020 | By Lucinda Riley | Filed in: scotland.

From New York Times bestselling author Lucinda Riley, n The Moon Sister n transports you to the grandeur of the remote Scottish Highlands and the gypsy caves of Granada, just as Spain descends into civil war, interweaving the stories of two women searching for their destinies, at the risk of potenti

Autumn (Seasonal, #1)

08 July 2020 | By Ali Smith | Filed in: scotland.

Daniel is a century old Elisabeth, born in 1984, has her eye on the future The United Kingdom is in pieces, divided by a historic once in a generation summer n nLove is won, love is lost Hope is hand in hand with hopelessness The seasons roll round, as ever .

How the Penguins Saved Veronica

08 July 2020 | By Hazel Prior | Filed in: scotland.

A curmudgeonly but charming old woman, her estranged grandson, and a colony of penguins proves it s never too late to be the person you want to be in this rich, heartwarming story from the acclaimed author of Ellie and the Harpmaker n nEighty five year old Veronica McCreedy is estranged from her fami

Outlander (Outlander, #1)

08 July 2020 | By Diana Gabaldon | Filed in: scotland.

The year is 1945 Claire Randall, a former combat nurse, is just back from the war and reunited with her husband on a second honeymoon when she walks through a standing stone in one of the ancient circles that dot the British Isles Suddenly she is a Sassenach an outlander in a Scotland torn by wa

Dragonfly in Amber (Outlander, #2)

08 July 2020 | By Diana Gabaldon | Filed in: scotland.

From the author of Outlander a magnificent epic that once again sweeps us back in time to the drama and passion of 18th century ScotlandFor twenty years Claire Randall has kept her secrets But now she is returning with her grown daughter to Scotland s majestic mist shrouded hills Here Claire

Voyager (Outlander, #3)

08 July 2020 | By Diana Gabaldon | Filed in: scotland.

From the author of the breathtaking bestsellers Outlander and Dragonfly in Amber, the extraordinary saga continues.Their passionate encounter happened long ago by whatever measurement Claire Randall took Two decades before, she had traveled back in time and into the arms of a gallant eighteenth cen

The Winter Sea (Slains, #1)

08 July 2020 | By Susanna Kearsley | Filed in: scotland.

In the spring of 1708, an invading Jacobite fleet of French and Scottish soldiers nearly succeeded in landing the exiled James Stewart in Scotland to reclaim his crown n nNow, Carrie McClelland hopes to turn that story into her next bestselling novel Settling herself in the shadow of Slains Castle,