Kopp Sisters on the March (Kopp Sisters, #5)

23 October 2019 | By Amy Stewart | Filed in: world war i.

In the fifth installment of Amy Stewart s clever and original Kopp Sisters series, the sisters learn some military discipline whether they re ready or not as the U.S prepares to enter World War I It s the spring of 1917 and change is in the air American women have done something remarkable they

A Single Thread

23 October 2019 | By Tracy Chevalier | Filed in: world war i.

1932 After the Great War took both her beloved brother and her fianc , Violet Speedwell has become a surplus woman, one of a generation doomed to a life of spinsterhood after the war killed so many young men Yet Violet cannot reconcile herself to a life spent caring for her grieving, embittered

Girls on the Line:

23 October 2019 | By Aimie K. Runyan | Filed in: world war i.

From the celebrated author of Daughters of the Night Sky comes a stirring novel inspired by the courage, dedication, and love of the unsung heroines of the Great War December 1917 As World War I rages in Europe, twenty four year old Ruby Wagner, the jewel in a prominent Philadelphia family, prepar

Girls of the Great War

23 October 2019 | By Freda Lightfoot | Filed in: world war i.

Cecily Hanson longs to live life on her own terms to leave the shadow of her overbearing mother and marry her childhood sweetheart once he returns from the Great War But when her fianc is lost at sea, this future is shattered Looking for meaning again, she decides to perform for the troops in Fra

The Glass Ocean

23 October 2019 | By Beatriz Williams | Filed in: world war i.

From the New York Times bestselling authors of The Forgotten Room comes a captivating historical mystery, infused with romance, that links the lives of three women across a century two deep in the past, one in the present to the doomed passenger liner, RMS Lusitania May 2013 Her finances are in dir

A House of Ghosts

23 October 2019 | By W.C. Ryan | Filed in: world war i.

Winter 1917 As the First World War enters its most brutal phase, back home in England, everyone is seeking answers to the darkness that has seeped into their lives At Blackwater Abbey, on an island off the Devon coast, Lord Highmount has arranged a spiritualist gathering to contact his two sons wh

A Bend in the Stars

23 October 2019 | By Rachel Barenbaum | Filed in: world war i.

For fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Women in the Castle comes a riveting literary novel that is at once an epic love story and a heart pounding journey across WWI era Russia, about an ambitious young doctor and her scientist brother in a race against Einstein to solve one of the greatest

Kopp Sisters on the March (Kopp Sisters, #5)

23 October 2019 | By Amy Stewart | Filed in: world war i.

In the fifth installment of Amy Stewart s clever and original Kopp Sisters series, the sisters learn some military discipline whether they re ready or not as the U.S prepares to enter World War I It s the spring of 1917 and change is in the air American women have done something remarkable they

American Duchess: A Novel of Consuelo Vanderbilt

23 October 2019 | By Karen Harper | Filed in: world war i.

Before Meghan and Harry, another American princess captured the hand of an English aristocrat Now, Karen Harper tells the tale of Consuelo Vanderbilt, her The Wedding of the Century to the Duke of Marlborough, and her quest to find meaning behind the glitter and the gold On a cold November d

World War 1: A History From Beginning to End

23 October 2019 | By Henry Freeman | Filed in: world war i.

World War IWorld War 1 was one of the bloodiest wars in modern history At its end, it had claimed over seventeen million lives It led to the collapse of nations, the abdication of monarchies and ended empires Entire divisions of men perished in the pursuit of mere miles of uninhabitable wasteland

The Poppy Field

23 October 2019 | By Deborah Carr | Filed in: world war i.

One to Watch Good HousekeepingThis year marks the 100th anniversary of the end of the First World War.Young nurse, Gemma, is struggling with the traumas she has witnessed through her job in the NHS Needing to escape from it all, Gemma agrees to help renovate a rundown farmhouse in Doullens, Franc

Cavendon Hall (Cavendon Hall, #1)

23 October 2019 | By Barbara Taylor Bradford | Filed in: world war i.

From the 1 New York Times bestselling author comes an epic saga of intrigue and mystique set in Edwardian England Cavendon Hall is home to two families, the aristocratic Inghams and the Swanns who serve them Charles Ingham, the sixth Earl of Mowbray, lives there with his wife Felicity and their s

The Silver Music Box

23 October 2019 | By Mina Baites | Filed in: world war i.

A captivating cross generational novel from German author Mina Baites about a Jewish family divided by World War II and an inheritance with the power to bring them back together 1914 For Paul, with love Jewish silversmith Johann Blumenthal engraved those words on his most exquisite creation, a si

The Girl in the Castle

23 October 2019 | By Santa Montefiore | Filed in: world war i.

Ireland The early twentieth century Two girls on the cusp of womanhood A nation on the brink of war Read their story and see why JOJO Moyes says that Nobody does epic romance like Santa Montefiore Born on the ninth day of the ninth month in the year 1900, Kitty Deverill grows up in Castle De

So Much Life Left Over

23 October 2019 | By Louis de Bernières | Filed in: world war i.

A sweeping, heartbreaking novel following Daniel in his troubled marriage with Rosie as they navigate the unsettled time between the World Wars Rosie and Daniel have moved to Ceylon with their little daughter to start a new life at the dawn of the 1920s, attempting to put the trauma of the First Wo