Trouble the Saints

06 August 2020 | By Alaya Dawn Johnson | Filed in: world war ii.

The dangerous magic of The Night Circus meets the powerful historical exploration of The Underground Railroad in this timely and unsettling novel, set against the darkly glamorous backdrop of New York City at the dawn of WWII n nAmidst the whir of city life, a girl from Harlem is drawn into the glitt

Inheritors

06 August 2020 | By Asako Serizawa | Filed in: world war ii.

Spanning than 150 years, and set in multiple locations in colonial and postcolonial Asia and the United States, Inheritors paints a kaleidoscopic portrait of its characters as they grapple with the legacies of loss, imperialism, and war n nWritten from myriad perspectives and in a wide range of

Talking Until Nightfall: Remembering Jewish Salonica 1941-44

06 August 2020 | By Isaac Matarasso | Filed in: world war ii.

Whoever listens to a witness, becomes a witness Elie Wiesel n nWhen Nazi occupiers arrived in Greece in 1941, it was the beginning of a horror that would reverberate through generations In the city of Salonica Thessaloniki , almost 50,000 Jews were sent to Nazi concentration camps during the wa

Her Last Flight

06 August 2020 | By Beatriz Williams | Filed in: world war ii.

The beloved author returns with a remarkable novel of both raw suspense and lyric beauty the story of a lost pilot and a wartime photographer that will leave its mark on your soul In 1947, photographer and war correspondent Janey Everett arrives at a remote surfing village on the Hawaiian island o

The Black Swan of Paris

06 August 2020 | By Karen Robards | Filed in: world war ii.

n A world at war A beautiful young star A mission no one expected n n nParis, 1944 n nCelebrated singer Genevieve Dumont is both a star and a smokescreen An unwilling darling of the Nazis, the chanteuse s position of privilege allows her to go undetected as an ally to the resistance n nWhen her estra

Red Sky over Hawaii

06 August 2020 | By Sara Ackerman | Filed in: world war ii.

Inspired by real places and events of WWII, Red Sky Over Hawaii immerses the reader in a time of American history full of suspicion and peril in this lush and poignant tale about the indisputable power of doing the right thing against all odds n nThe attack on Pearl Harbor changes everything for Lana

The Tattooist of Auschwitz (The Tattooist of Auschwitz, #1)

06 August 2020 | By Heather Morris | Filed in: world war ii.

In April 1942, Lale Sokolov, a Slovakian Jew, is forcibly transported to the concentration camps at Auschwitz Birkenau When his captors discover that he speaks several languages, he is put to work as a T towierer the German word for tattooist , tasked with permanently marking his fellow prisoners.

Across the Winding River

06 August 2020 | By Aimie K. Runyan | Filed in: world war ii.

A woman unlocks the mystery of her father s wartime past in a moving novel about secrets, sacrifice, and the power of love by the bestselling author of Daughters of the Night Sky n nBeth Cohen wants to make the most of the months she has left with her elderly father, Max His only request of his daug

The Book of Lost Names

06 August 2020 | By Kristin Harmel | Filed in: world war ii.

Inspired by an astonishing true story from World War II, a young woman with a talent for forgery helps hundreds of Jewish children flee the Nazis in this unforgettable historical novel from the international bestselling author of the epic and heart wrenching World War II tale Alyson Noel, 1 New

The Beekeeper's Promise

06 August 2020 | By Fiona Valpy | Filed in: world war ii.

Heartbroken and hoping for a new start, Abi Howes takes a summer job in rural France at the Ch teau Bellevue The old ch teau echoes with voices from the past, and soon Abi finds herself drawn to one remarkable woman s story, a story that could change the course of her summer and her life n nIn 1938,

Florence Adler Swims Forever

06 August 2020 | By Rachel Beanland | Filed in: world war ii.

Over the course of one summer that begins with a shocking tragedy, three generations of the Adler family grapple with heartbreak, romance, and the weight of family secrets in this stunning debut novel that s perfect for fans of Manhattan Beach and The Dollhouse Atlantic City, 1934 Every summer, Es

Sea of Memories

06 August 2020 | By Fiona Valpy | Filed in: world war ii.

When Kendra first visits her ailing grandmother, Ella has only one request that Kendra write her story down, before she forgets n nIn 1937, seventeen year old Ella s life changes forever when she is sent to spend the summer on the beautiful le de R and meets the charismatic, creative Christophe T

The Secret Orphan

06 August 2020 | By Glynis Peters | Filed in: world war ii.

Keep her secret n nKeep her safe n nOn the 14th November 1940, Hitler s bombs rain down on Coventry From the rubble of a bombed out family home, a young girl is saved but at what cost n nThis is a stunning and memorable page turner of love, loss and resilience for fans of Orphan Train and The Secret

Have You Seen Luis Velez?

06 August 2020 | By Catherine Ryan Hyde | Filed in: world war ii.

Raymond Jaffe feels like he doesn t belong Not with his mother s new family Not as a weekend guest with his father and his father s wife Not at school, where he s an outcast After his best friend moves away, Raymond has only two real connections to the feral cat he s tamed and to a blind ninety

The Choice: Embrace the Possible

06 August 2020 | By Edith Eger | Filed in: world war ii.

It s 1944 and sixteen year old ballerina and gymnast Edith Eger is sent to Auschwitz Separated from her parents on arrival, she endures unimaginable experiences, including being made to dance for the infamous Josef Mengele When the camp is finally liberated, she is pulled from a pile of bodies, ba

Her Last Flight

06 August 2020 | By Beatriz Williams | Filed in: world war ii.

The beloved author returns with a remarkable novel of both raw suspense and lyric beauty the story of a lost pilot and a wartime photographer that will leave its mark on your soul In 1947, photographer and war correspondent Janey Everett arrives at a remote surfing village on the Hawaiian island o

What Child Is This

06 August 2020 | By Rhys Bowen | Filed in: world war ii.

n Christmas during World War II is a time for small miracles in this bittersweet short story by the New York Times bestselling author of The Tuscan Child and In Farleigh Field nJack and Maggie Harris are adrift on ravaged streets during the London Blitz Their home is gone They have nowhere to go

Code Name Hélène

06 August 2020 | By Ariel Lawhon | Filed in: world war ii.

This book is based on the life of Nancy Wake, an Australian expat who worked as a reporter for Hearst in Paris just before WWII and later as a spy for the British Lawhon throws readers into the middle of the action, as Nancy, under the alias H l ne, prepares to parachute from an RAF plane into Fran